PETA reports that “gelatin is a protein obtained by boiling skin, tendons, ligaments, and/or bones with water. It is usually obtained from cows or pigs.”
Gelatin is used in more products than you think, such as:
- Gummy candies and lollies
- Ice cream
- Cosmetic products
Gelatin is not suitable for vegans and vegetarians. A similar product that is vegan is “agar-agar” it is made from seaweed. And for vegetarians, Queen’s Jel-it-in Gelling Powder is a great alternative.
Nutritional and health benefits
From a nutritional perspective, gelatin contains 18 amino acids. As the proteins are animal-derived they are easy for the human body to digest. It is a relatively good source of vitamins and minerals but is not a complete protein source as it doesn’t contain all of the necessary amino acids required by humans.
The health benefits of consuming gelatin include:
- Skin, hair and nail growth
- Reduced joint inflammation
- Improved digestion
- Muscle growth
- Strengthen the immune system